Workers’ compensation in Minnesota, and what’s covered

On Behalf of | Jul 25, 2020 | Workers' Compensation |

Injured workers in Minnesota are eligible for workers’ compensation benefits, but it would be wise to know what the laws surrounding it are like. First of all, employers are required to carry workers’ comp insurance. With approval, though, they may obtain self-insurance. Everyone who performs a paid service for an employer is considered an employee. Independent contractors are not covered under workers’ comp.

Next, victims who wish to receive the maximum amount in benefits need to inform their employer of their injury within 14 days. They could also do it within 30 days if employers are not put at a disadvantage by this delay. Ultimately, there is a three-year statute of limitations on determining or receiving compensation.

Workers’ comp benefits include medical expenses, such as the cost of treatments, prescription drugs, medical supplies and travel to and from the hospital. Next, victims will be reimbursed for a portion of their lost wages based on whether they suffered a temporary disability or a total or partial permanent disability.

Victims may even receive vocational rehabilitation services. If victims die, the surviving spouse may receive vocational training to become self-supporting. Lastly, the family of a fatally injured worker may also receive death benefits that cover funeral and burial expenses, among other things.

Filing a workers’ compensation claim may not be easy, and there are times when disputes arise over benefits. One thing that victims could do is consult a workers’ compensation lawyer and get assistance with the filing process as well as with the mounting of an appeal, if necessary. The lawyer might help with filing an Employee’s Claim Petition and speak on victims’ behalf during the hearing. He or she may also explain when it’s advisable to opt for a lump-sum settlement. All the while, victims could focus on recovering.

FindLaw Network